Our Team


Doug Cohen

Chief Executive Officer

Doug Cohen is IR Medtek's CEO and has over twenty years' experience in manufacturing equipment, product design, global sourcing, and logistics. Doug is a graduate of MIT in mechanical engineering and has experience as both an owner and investor in start-ups. He owns a number of technology patents.


James Coe, PhD

Chief Technology Officer

Dr. Coe received his B.A. with Honors in 1980 from Swarthmore College, and his Ph.D. in 1986 from The Johns Hopkins University (advisor Kit H. Bowen) where he was awarded the Roseman Award for excellence in research. Postdoctoral work was done at the University of California, Berkeley.  He has been a faculty member at since 1989, being promoted to Associate Professor in 1995 and Full Professor in 2007.


Andy Spector

Chief Operating Officer

Andy Spector has over 30 years experience in engineering, technical marketing, sales, and business development. He has extensive experience in fiber optics and integrated optics technologies. Andy is a graduate of Stanford (M.S. mechanical engineering) and University of Illinois (B.S. aeronautical engineering).


Charles Hitchcock, MD, PhD

Chief Scientific Officer

Dr. Hitchcock is an Emeritus Faculty member of the Dept. of Pathology at OSU and James Cancer Hospital. For the last 35 years, he has been a member of a multidisciplinary team of physicians, engineers, chemists, and biomedical scientists whose goal is to provide physicians with the resources to optimize the treatment of patients with solid tumors. Their efforts have resulted in over 500 publications and abstracts, multiple research grants, patents, and several biotech companies.


Edward Martin, MD

Chief Medical Officer

Dr. Martin is a professor emeritus in the Dept. of Surgery, Division of Surgical Oncology at OSU and a member of the Translational Therapeutics Program at the James Cancer Hospital.

Dr. Martin has 40 years of experience in cancer surgery, has over 300 publications, and has co-founded 8 biotech companies and over 100 patents.  He also pioneered CEA-directed second-look surgery and radioimmunoguided surgery.